Skip to content

Family traditions

December 24, 2009

On Christmas Eve, our family of 6 (now 7, with my son’s new wife) celebrates the season by grazing on an array of junk food (rightly called “Junky Dinner” 13 years ago by our son, Nick), while watching the holiday classic “National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation.” This family tradition spans more than a dozen years and is certain to be one that spans dozens more. My children wouldn’t have it any other way. They look forward to spending the evening with The Griswald family almost as much as they enjoy visiting with us (or maybe more?).

This year we have a new family member and our son is over-the-top excited to share our family tradition with his new wife. I may have to break out the eggnog a little early to prepare her for the event. She’s heard stories, I know, about the evening’s festivities, but seeing is believing. You would never imagine that 3 grown boys would laugh so hard at a movie they have seen more than 12 times, unless you witnessed it for yourself.

But I love it. We love it. Our Morrison Family Christmas Eve tradition. There’s something so comforting in knowing, I think. Traditions provide you with that. Knowing that we’ll be together. Knowing we’ll enjoy plates of meatballs, sausage rolls, Christmas cookies, potato chips, peanuts…oh, the junk food we consume. Knowing we’ll laugh like it’s the first time we saw Uncle Eddie pull up in his broken-down RV and empty his “shitter” into the sewer. We’ll laugh. A lot. There will be tears.

Knowing that my boys will stand alongside the TV and recite verbatim scene-after-scene, makes me smile. It’s a silly tradition, as traditions go, but it stuck. And we’re stuck WITH it.

As our family grows, and we, as parents, we grow older, I like knowing that we’ve created this memory.

And no matter what life has in store for our growing family, we’ll always have Chevy. After all, ‘Tis the Season to be Merry!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Robyn Davis permalink
    December 26, 2009 4:35 am

    I love our family Christmas Eve tradition and its crazy how all the boys remember all the words to this movie I sure as heck don’t every year I see the movie I see a part of the movie I missed lol love you keep the writing up

Leave a Reply

