Skip to content

Got mail?

December 30, 2009

I think I am addicted to myself. And NOT in the way that you’re thinking I’m addicted to myself. It’s the blog. I’m addicted to it. Or rather, I’m addicted to writing here… and to checking who has been here. And how many.

But it’s the waiting that’s getting to me. Waiting for the e-mail to pop up that says, “New comment on your post #…Awaiting approval.” That brings a smile to my face. My heart starts to pound as I click over to my blog. Ah…someone’s reading. And they left a comment. Such a feeling, I tell you.

But I fear it is out of control. That I am out of control. I check my e-mail about ever 45 seconds – less when I’m at the office, but my evenings are shot …with the waiting. And the stats. Well, the blog stats are also eating up much of my evening. Checking, checking, checking. How many people read my blog today (now)? Where did they come from?

It’s the connection I’m seeking, I guess. Isn’t that why we blog? To be heard. To connect with people through words. To have your words resonate with another and they send a comment that says, “Oh yea, I had that happen to me…I totally agree…How funny, my kids do that same thing…” It’s why I’m here. To connect.

Over the holidays, I made such a connection. You remember the “Song of the day” I posted for your enjoyment during Christmas? Well, I posted a video on Dec 24 by a beautiful little girl, Rhema Marvanne, just 7, who has the voice of an angel. On Dec 26, I received this note (a comment!) from her uncle : Merry Christmas to you and your family. I just want to take time out to say thank you for putting my niece’s “O Holy Night” song on your website and the positive feedback. She lost her mom last year right before Christmas due to ovarian cancer but today her daughter is spreading God’s word thru her singing ministry. Again Thank you..

I was so thrilled that the post was “found” by her family, and that he took the time to send me that note. We’re about to embark on a new year, and I’ll be here often. Yammering on about random stuff. Can’t promise it will always be interesting. If you’re out there, let me know!! You know I’ll be waiting…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda Spear permalink
    December 30, 2009 6:03 pm

    I’m always interested in what you have to say and the cartoon is incredible…love it. Just in the midst of setting up my website:

    lindaspear.com

    So check it out after the first of the year. In any case, “Good tidings to you, friend.”

    xx,

    Linda

  2. Sandy permalink
    December 30, 2009 6:31 pm

    Hi Gwen: I want to say that I love your blog and that I am in awe of you and your writing ability. I love to read what you write! I check almost everyday to see what you have to say. Keep up the great work! Sandy

  3. December 31, 2009 2:30 am

    Hi, Gwen, I have always thought that you were so talented, since the first time I met you. Keep writing, as it is a talent that not all of us have! 🙂 I haven’t even tried to start a blog as I have nothing profound to say and I don’t know why anyone would want to read about my thoughts. So your blog post today is very interesting to me. Keep writing! Maybe it will help me get motivated to do one myself! 🙂 Lorrie

  4. January 16, 2010 10:42 pm

    Gwen, website changed to lindamspear.com cause the others were taken….rats! But the work is in the process. I’ll let you know when it’s complete and fully fleshed out, like it’s owner….

  5. June 2, 2010 6:16 pm

    Since you and Dave made my own pitiful attempts at deriving a website into something soooooo special. It took two loving and kind people to do the work that this woman who trusted your capability and kindness to make it not just good, but GREAT!

    So lindamspear.com is glowing triumvarite of us three!

    Love,

    linda

Leave a Reply

