Skip to content

Clear your cache

January 4, 2010

Definition – Cache
Often referred to as the cache, the Temporary Internet Files folder contains a kind of travel record of the items you have seen, heard, or downloaded from the Web, including images, sounds, Web pages, even cookies.

Definition: Clearing your cache
All those files stored in your cache take up space, so from time to time, you may want to clear out the files stored in your cache to free up some space on your computer. This is called clearing the cache.

I don’t know about you but there are times when I’m running in 18 different directions — kids, work, house — and when I sit down to write, I can’t seem to let go of all of the thoughts running through my head. “Is tomorrow trash day? Did I give the dog his pill? When is the yearbook money due, again? Is it my anniversary already? Is it this week that my boss is visiting from Pittsburg? …” So I thought: If only I could “clear my cache,” then I’d be able to free up space in my head to allow for the creative thoughts to find a home.

Unfortunately, when I prompted my brain to delete temporary files, I didn’t specify the start-up time for “cache-clearing.” My brain has apparently decided (all on her own) that 2 a.m. is the perfect time to purge itself of data. So, for the past 3 nights, my creative thoughts have been setting up camp in the empty space inside my head just about the time I’m ready to slip into a deep sleep. Last night, I outlined an entire chapter of my new novel, came up with a name and loose character description for the main character’s daughter, and a possible title for the book (at 1:43 a.m). Not bad. But the sleep-deprived me is not typically my favorite person to be around….so….

I tossed and turned, trying to turn it off, but it was no use. The cache was clear, and those creative thoughts had been waiting for their turn. For my full attention. So, I gave in. I grabbed a notepad and went with it. And it was then, and only then, when the words were on paper, that the voices quieted. Cache full. Cache cleared.

So, today I will find some time to clear my cache, before nightfall. And maybe that’s the lesson for me. To stop. Breathe. Reboot. Remember to create space to allow the creativity in.

Have you cleared your cache lately?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

