Skip to content

Sweet dreams

January 8, 2010

Like many creative people I know, I remember my dreams. Or at least I remember the dreams I remember. And wow, can I dream. When I drift off to sleep at night, I wonder what will be “playing” in my head. Normally, it’s a double-feature; sometimes different genres. Last night it was a comedy, followed by a brief horror scene that I quickly dismissed in lieu of consciousness at around 4 a.m. (Not my favorite kind of dream, for sure).

I remember dreams from as far back as my childhood. When I was 15 there was the dream that I was shaving my legs with a razor, bar of soap, and the garden hose on the front lawn of my parent’s house when my new boyfriend arrived to pick me up. And then the more recent dream that my husband and I were jellyfish, being chased by a swimming tiger. We swam to shore, ’cause tigers are sea creatures, and surely can’t walk on land…and when we slithered onto the beach, we turned into human beings. We ran to my sisters house, and she was too pre-occupied with whoever she was hiding in her attic (we could hear the banging, Michelle…) to let us stay with her. Besides, with a (sea) tiger chasing us, she wanted no part of that. She sent us to the “movie theater” across the road — which was really an old two story house, with three bedrooms that were showing different movies on tv. I refused to sit on the unmade bed to watch the showing attraction on the 20-inch screen ….and then I woke up.



So instead of rushing out to call a therapist — at the suggestion of my husband — I decided to see what the dream experts said about this one. I found some “experts” online (and you know if you found it on the Internet, it’s true), and this is what they said about my dream:

“To dream abouut a tiger symbolizes control and your aptitude at displaying it. It also could mean that you need to be commanding more often. Additionally, the tiger represents a woman’s sensuality and pugnacity. To dream about being attacked by a tiger indicates disturbing thoughts that you are holding back.”

Well? Hmmm…control? Nah, not me. I just feel things are much better when they are done the way that I do them.

And the “…need to be commanded more often”? I think I’ll leave that one alone. (And so will you, honey.)

Most interesting was the interpretation about being attacked by a tiger. THAT I can go with. Disturbing thoughts. Uh, now we’ve come full circle. Dreaming that you are a jellyfish, being chased by a swimming tiger — anyone reading think this is NOT disturbing?

The second part of the interpretation was related to the CHASE. So, if you dream that you are being chased by an animal, it says that there is anger that I haven’t displayed and those feelings are being placed within this animal. So, I’m pissed about something, basically. Maybe the fact that I’m being chased by a tiger?

As a writer, I think I do my best work when I’m unconscious. I wake up sometimes and wish I could capture, with as much such detail, the weird and crazy scenes and the vivid characters I conjure up when I’m dozing.

I wonder how many people remember their dreams as vividly as I do. I’d like to think there are many of us. Please, let there be lots of people that are have had a dream about raising a new breed of monkeys in their backyard.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2010 1:42 pm

    Do you dreams ever have commonality? Most of mine are in my parents house, with high school friends, or something far fetched with Kelly. Strange. I really hate the reoccurring ones – tornado dreams. Ick! 🙂

  2. January 9, 2010 6:04 pm

    My dreams always seem to be random and mostly off-the-wall. Last night I was trying to rescue a baby from the bottom of a neighborhood pool. I rarely have nightmares, but when I do, they are really creepy. I think when I am spending more of my waking hours writing, I dream more (or at least, I can recall my dreams more often). It must be that right / left brain thing.

Leave a Reply

