Skip to content

Pilates, here I come

January 16, 2010

Many years ago a friend said to me, “You look good in clothes.” And, I’m pretty sure that she meant, “That outfit looks good on you,” since it’s not like I traipse around without clothes in front of her. But years later, as I look at myself in and out of clothes, I wonder …what did she REALLY mean?

I was reminded of this comment just the other day when a friend directed me to Target for the big bathing suit sale. Combing through the racks, I was excited by the huge selection of cute suits. I picked a blue one, a red and black one, and a floral patterned swimsuit and skipped happily to the fitting room. Three things did NOT occur to at the time: I was in a great mood, it was two weeks after Christmas, and Target is not known for having the best fitting swimsuits (aka: they are designed for girls with tight butts and 0% body fat).

When I exited the fitting room, my husband gave me the “Why didn’t you show me” look. Like he hasn’t experienced the horror of swimsuit shopping with me before. Or maybe he was in denial, knowing full-well that the fallout was coming…

“Oh, honey, be grateful that I spared you from that experience.” I said. “I only wish I could erase the images myself.”

Needless to say, my mood took a nose dive. Much as I tried to remember that TARGET suits are not the best fitting suits for me, and that I had just come off what seemed like a month-long binge with chocolate and pumpkin pie (damn those holidays!), flashbacks of the tight fitting bottoms played over-and-over in my mind.

Quietly, with my husband remaining at a safe distance, I made my way to the checkout to pay for my non-swimsuit items. The headline “Make Over Your Body in One Month” spoke to me as I passed the magazine rack. Okay, okay. I get it. I tossed the newest edition of SHAPE on the belt and vowed to return to the gym the next day (and eat nothing but salad and a crouton or two for the next week).

Note to self: Do NOT for any reason shop for bathing suits during these times: the month after Christmas, when I haven’t been to the gym for weeks, when the levels of cocoa in my body are at their highest, or when I’m in a delightfully-happy mood. And add to that list — bras and jeans. Stay away from those as well, during any and all of the above conditions.

Well, hey, it could be worse. At least I look good in clothes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Wendy permalink
    January 17, 2010 2:49 am

    Oh NO! Target swimsuits SUCK.

Trackbacks

  1. Aging — it’s mind over matter « a life less ordinary

Leave a Reply

