Skip to content

Human bed warmer

January 27, 2010

It’s been a cold winter, by Atlanta standards. I know this not only because I’ve had to pull out the big guns–heavy woolen socks, corner space heater, ear muffs, and favorite faux fur blanket–but also because the amount due on my most recent utility bill is $275 (for one month!).

Chilly night or not, I’m always the first one in bed. And since I haven’t taken the advice of a friend, who encouraged me to buy the flannel sheets that keep her warm through these winter nights, I cringe every time I pull back the covers and slip between the cold sheets. A cold bed does not make for a good night’s sleep, so I am the official bed warmer in our house. I shuffle my feet around, creating just enough friction to warm but not set the bed ablaze, so that when my husband crawls in on his side the temperature of the bed doesn’t make his teeth chatter. And I think I’m a pretty good bed warmer. If I wear the flannel pajamas, I can get the bed termperature up to a comfortable 68 degrees in mere minutes.

What I didn’t realize was that I now have the experience I need to embark on a whole new career in the hospitality industry. I never imagined that my particular skill – bed warming — could be life changing should I ever feel the need to reinvent myself, change career direction. I recently discovered that Holiday Inn is now offering this service at three hotels in Britain. On request, a willing staff member will dress in all-in-one fleece pajamas and slip between the sheets of your bed. The bed warmer is equipped with a thermometer to measure the bed’s required temperature of 68 degrees F. The spokesman for Holiday Inn confirmed that the warmer would be fully dressed, but was unable to verify if a “shower-before-warming” guideline was in place, but that he would look into that.

Holiday Inn reps also confirmed that the warmer would leave the bed before the guest occupied it. This is good to know. Again, if I decide to make a career change, it’s important to have a clear understanding of the job description. Put on flannel jammies. Roll around in guest’s bed. And no sleeping on the job!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

