Skip to content

365 Days of Writing

February 25, 2010

I’ve been a little behind on my blogging this week–but with good reason, I tell you. I’m working on another blog! Now, I know that this sounds a little back-asswards: “I don’t have time to blog, so I’m building another blog…” but let me explain. I watched the movie “Julie and Julia” just before Christmas, and I was completely inspired.

I had been looking for an idea, a way to keep myself on track with my current project (book 2), and after watching the movie, I was inspired by Julie Powell, the blogger who set herself the task of cooking completely through Julia’s “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” in a single year. And writing about it on her blog (which she later turned into a book).

Now I am not a Julie OR a Julia when it comes to cooking. What I am, however, is a writer. I’m currently working on a new book, along with working full time, taking care of a home, and raising a family (two out of four children still expect me to feed them at least twice a day). So, at the end of a long day at office, I’m not as inspired to sit down (yet again) at a computer and write as I want to be. But I have to. I want to. I need motivation. Self-motivation–and the promise of chocolate just isn’t cutting it. NOW I have to go to the gym to work of THAT motivation, and that cuts into my writing time.

What I need, to be brutally honest, is a serious kick in the ass. And even though I had many volunteers willing to give me the swift kick I deserved in order to get myself in gear and get busy on this book, I decided that I would do the honors.


So my “kick in the ass” is a new blog. It’s called “A Novel Idea: 365 Days of Writing” or “Project 365.” In this daily blog (yes, seriously…it’s going to be daily — I’m on the clock), I will be keeping myself on track by posting my writing plan for the day and a progress report of the day prior. It’s essentially a way to keep myself accountable. My goal was to finish this manuscript by last November, but that date has come and gone. Mindless things, like watching repeat episodes of Two and a Half Men and 3-hour marathons of Designed to Sell took precedent over my writing. So, now, I’m kicking my own ass.

It will be something like this:

Day two:

Progress: Survey results are in: Main character’s name is Tess. Added that to character sketch — looks better than Main Character. Now she has some life.

Today: Planned on getting up early to finish adding pictures to the storyboard, but alarm didn’t go off. Need  to come up with last name for main character. Working on her character sketch and can’t decide if she’s Irish or Italian. Francesca definitely sounds Italian….

Words written  – 459. Goal is to write 1000 words a day. If I want to finish this in 365 days. …polished and out the door…that is…

Quote of the day: “Dreams become reality when intentions become action” Now, THAT is appropriate and timely.

So, that’s the plan. Those of you who have been so supportive of my writing — thank you. I can’t even begin to tell you how much it means to me. I will “invite” you to follow me as I “kick it in gear” and get busy on my new book. I will still be blogging here, but will also be blogging “there.”

Follow my progress and you’ll get the inside scoop on the story (it’s a good one!). I can’t promise to be as entertaining “there” as I am on this blog (wink), but this is a way for me to stay on track. And I think it will be fun! Stay tuned for more. I am almost ready to get this party started. Wish me luck!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Wendy permalink
    February 25, 2010 1:40 pm

    Excellent! Julie and Julia is very inspiring indeed. It was one of the TEN movies I saw on the plane trips to and from NZ. I hope the blog helps you to stay on track. Git r done!!!! 🙂

  2. Lorrie Staples-Ellis permalink
    February 25, 2010 3:06 pm

    “Dreams become reality when intentions become action” – I love the quote of the day you included.

    Thanks for sharing, Gwen! You are keeping me inspired, which is an accomplishment these days when it’s pretty tough to find just one job, even though I have skills and experience. (The job market is rough and unpredictable right now.)

  3. Judy Patterson permalink
    February 25, 2010 3:45 pm

    Great idea, Gwen, where do we sign up for your “new” blog, too?

  4. April 8, 2010 12:12 am

    So cool! You & I started the same adventure. I didn’t see the link for your new blog.

  5. April 8, 2010 12:13 am

    Oops…put down the wrong email.

  6. April 8, 2010 12:17 am

    J. Kaye…how is yours coming along? I’ve been following and love the “scene cards”!

  7. December 3, 2010 4:56 pm

    last time, i joined a writing contests on the internet and i won a small price for writing a nice piece of writing “.*

Trackbacks

  1. 365 Days of Writing: Day One | A Novel Idea

Leave a Reply

