Skip to content

How to have fun

March 2, 2010

I had a really fun weekend. I slept in late, staying in my pajamas until noon. I made pots of tea and watched hours of Olympic games (go Canada!). I had cocktails with my husband at the “Morrison bar” (aka the kitchen breakfast bar) one night, and enjoyed a steak dinner and a good bottle of Cabernet with my husband the next. I worked on my Web site. I read books on my Kindle. I had hot chocolate and scones at the local bookstore, grilled burgers for Sunday Family Dinner, and finished off the weekend with a long hot “Calgon Take Me Away” bath.

What fun!

Having FUN is a necessary part of my life–in whatever form it takes. It was a decision I made long ago. Have more fun. But it took me a while to figure out what FUN really was for me. When I was younger, raising four kids, fun came in the form of successful trips to the mall (where no one was left behind), walks in the park, little league games, and one kid’s birthday party after another (okay, I NEVER enjoyed the parties, okay…never…)

As busy as we were, and even though we rarely got “out of the house” as a couple, I don’t remember ever thinking that anything was missing.  And today when we watch those home videos of the kids, it’s easy to see that we really knew how to have fun.  My expectations were in line with my reality.

But what is FUN? I think having FUN is simply a conscious decision. Whether you are skydiving, partying with friends, or relaxing in front of a fire with a good book, you can decide to have FUN. The trick is knowing “how.” And for me, there is no recipe for fun. The possibilities are endless…and how fun is that?

Not coincidentally, I’m sure, one of my all-time favorite books is The Cat in the Hat. And this quote from the book really says it all:

Look at me!
Look at me!
Look at me NOW!
It is fun to have fun
But you have to know how.

My idea of fun is ever-changing. And that’s kind of fun.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 12:42 pm

    Loved it Gwen!

    I typically have the same view point but in the last couple of days I’ve forgotten to have fun. Mostly because things are a little stressful in my household lately (it’s temporary). It’s only Monday and a hard week to follow. You have inspired me to view my week a little differently. Remembering to have fun along the way is a very good rule!

    I love reading your blog.
    Kimberly

    • March 2, 2010 4:42 pm

      Thanks Kim! It’s easy to forget to have fun — work, kids, family, etc, etc, etc. — I think it’s interesting to me how much my idea of fun changes, sometimes from week-to-week. We can’t let the kids have ALL the fun!

Trackbacks

  1. Ordinary days « a life less ordinary

Leave a Reply

