Skip to content

Reading, writing, and a BetterWorld

March 20, 2010

To be a good writer, you have to be a reader. Every writer I know usually has more than one book on the go. I am usually reading 3 at the same time. I have a Kindle, so I’m able to carry around dozens of books in my purse at one time. It’s awesome!

As I’ve been know to drop books into the bathtub, I always have another fiction book on stand-by for night-time reading. Kindle during the day. Soft-cover fiction at night. (Ever since I dropped The Historian into the tub — the 642-page, 2 pound hardcover version — and it swelled to twice its size, I’ve sworn off hardcover books as my back-up). 

 As much as I love my Kindle, I’m still an avid book collector. My new bookshelves are filling up fast. 

My library of books

My library of books

My all-time favorite place to buy books for my growing collection is BetterWorld Books. If you’re not stuck on the idea of having a brand-spanking new book, you can find just about any title at BetterWorld. Not only do they offer great prices, with free shipping anywhere in the U.S., but they collect and sell used books to raise money for literacy initiatives worldwide. How awesome is that?

There’s a ticker at the top of their website that tells you how much money they’ve raised, as well as how many books they’ve “rescued” from landfills. Today it’s at 32,595,075 and counting. 

You can also buy new books at BetterWorld, and if you register and are logged in, it has a feature that lets you search for the book at your local library.

So what am I reading now?

  1. The New Community Rules
  2. Sleeping with Ward Cleaver (downloaded on Kindle)
  3. I know you by Heart (written by Linda Spear, new friend and awesome lady)

What’s on your bookshelf today?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2010 12:49 am

    I am so happy you’ve got Sleeping with Ward Cleaver! and I do love my Kindle too–though I spilled a whole cup of water on it in the middle of the night last week–grrr!
    Hey–I do try to educate people about buying used books only because it’s a real loaded issues in the publishing world these days. Unfortunately, the way authors get 2nd and 3rd books published is based upon sales figures. And authors get no sales credit (nor do they get even a penny) for used books, unfortunately. So While on the one hand I am a believer in sharing books on many levels (saving trees, for one, and simply the benefit of sharing, for another LOL), it unfortunately ends up hosing authors a lot because if they don’t make adequate sales figures, the publishing houses don’t give them new contracts for new books. It’s a bummer and it’s based upon an archaic way to calibrate an author’s popularity (well, and bottom line), but a lot of authors who are fabulous writers are not getting picked up for additional books because their sales numbers don’t reflect that people are reading their books, based purely on sales numbers. Of course this is an entirely ridiculous system, because, for instance, I don’t doubt that easily ten times the number of people who bought my book have read it. But it’s the lame way it happens now…It’s one reason I’m a real proponent of e-books—they’re more affordable, there’s no paper waste (and there’s a LOT with print books), and you can carry around countless numbers of books in one thin little reader! I am gonna put my money where my mouth is with e-readers soon, so keep an eye out for my announcement 😉

    • March 26, 2010 12:57 am

      Totally agree with you about the “ridiculous system.” It’s already so tough for authors, and I’m also a big proponent of e-books (especially with my Kindle!). I love that I can buy a book in minutes, and carry it around with me anywhere I go. For people like me, who are reading more than one book at a time, I never know which book I’ll want to read at any given moment. That’s the cool thing about Kindle. With BetterWorld, what I like about them is that the book is recycled, not discarded, allowing another reader the opportunity to discover a new voice, as I did.

Leave a Reply

