Skip to content

Be careful what you wish for

March 25, 2010
tags: , ,

I’m sick. I have a cold. And it’s my own fault. Karma. The universe is punishing me for the very thought (and it was a fleeting thought, I promise) of withdrawing from my bank of accrued sick time (more than 3 weeks), without actually being physically ill.

It was an innocent comment made to a faraway friend, “I have so much to do, I think I might have to take a sick day.” A Sunday afternoon phone call. An off-the-cuff remark that was in no way taken seriously. Seriously.

Monday morning I got up, I went to work. Tuesday morning, I got up, I went to work…felt a little off, but not truly SICK, so no need to take a sick day. Wednesday morning…got up and went to work…not feeling so hot. By 10 a.m. I had gone through 2 packages of purse-sized tissue packages (thank God my daughter bought me 12 pack for Christmas), and the right side of my noise was as red as the new sweater I was wearing (Eddie Bauer, big weekend sale).

So, it’s official. I’m sick.  Sneezing. Runny nose. Watery eyes. Achy. Sore throat. Headache. Is it just me, or does anyone else think the timing is a little eerie?

It was chicken soup and Mucinex for dinner;  Nyquil for dessert (with a square of chocolate). And now I’m off to read “Sleeping with Ward Cleaver.” Author Jenny Gardiner is a new fav of mine and I’m hoping to get through at least one more chapter before I succumb to the effects of the drugs I’ve consumed today.

Note: be VERY careful what you ask for.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

