Skip to content

The good marriage

April 12, 2010

I will never forget the anniversary card my oldest son bought Dave and I on our 10th wedding anniversary. Scrolled at the bottom of the card, in his signature chicken-scratch-like handwriting, he wrote, “Mom and Dad, thank you for showing me what it’s like have a good marriage.”

I was stunned. And thrilled. As a parent, to know we were doing something right (and of value), that was huge.

He’s 25 now, and will be celebrating his first wedding anniversary in a few short weeks. And as I watch the young couple — eating out to dinner at their favorite Mexican restaurant every week, laughing at and with each other, adopting their first pet, and hanging curtains together in their new apartment — I’m proud of the man he’s become.

I’m also reminded of how fast the time goes, and how many good (and not-so-good) memories we have created.

In the 18 years we’ve been married, we’ve had challenges and we’ve had victories. We’ve laughed and we’ve cried. We are not even the same two people who said “I do,” nearly two decades ago. We’ve had sickness. We’ve had health. And we’ve definitely been through both better and worse.

But through it all we’ve remained committed to support each other, no matter what. We learned, over these years, what it means to truly be there for each other.

So, when I saw this article in the NY Times, it made me think about the longevity of marriage. How easy it is to think that everything remains the same.

In this beautiful article, author Elinor Lipman writes about her relationship with her husband during one of the most challenging times in their long marriage. 

And of course..

Grow old along with me, the best is yet to be
–Robert Browning

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 1:23 am

    What a lovely article! How wonderful that your son saw that so young. My husband & I have been together almost 28 years. Our eldest son is 25 and of his friends, we’re the only couple on our original marriage & still together.

Leave a Reply

