Skip to content

What are dreams made of?

April 26, 2010

I had a vivid dream last night that something catastrophic happened, and the world that I knew was gone. My house. My family. All gone.  I was traveling with a group of strangers, all of us injured in some way, and we were searching for our families, for our pre-catastrophe lives.

We wandered from abandoned house to abandoned house, staying close together at all times (think Flash Forward meets The Road). The strange thing was that although it was clear that something horrific had happened, the day was bright and sunny. My posse of new friends were as scared as I was, but we were confident and hopeful that the change was good; that we would find what we were looking for.  We moved forward, scared but knowing that we had to keep moving forward.

Scary stuff. And oh-so-real. Don’t you just hate that?

I woke up in a panic. Relieved to find that my life was still intact. Only a dream. Only a dream.

If I were a supersticious, dream-believer, I would have no trouble interpreting the message:

Live in the moment.

Enjoy every day.

Don’t worry, be happy.

Follow your passion

Seize the day

Be thankful for what you have.

No regrets.

It’s the third dream I’ve had in the last week that involved losing something. And though I’m not supersticious, I wonder where dreams really come from. Are they a visual representation of our inner thoughts, fears, and beliefs?

I can close my eyes now, even, and recall that scene in my dream as though it really happened. I’m with that group of random strangers (although I feel like I know them), and we’re together, and we’re searching. And even though there is chaos around us, we are calm as we move from place to place. And it’s clear to me that we’re all looking for the same thing.

Maybe that’s the point?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    April 26, 2010 1:26 pm

    Terrible way to wake up. I hope your breathing has returned to normal by now.

  2. Judy permalink
    April 26, 2010 3:24 pm

    Wow, Gwen, fascinating dream! Part of it may be prophetic. “They” say that soon the world, as we know, will change dramatically. I believe for the better. We can see the “dominos” falling all around us in the World’s currencies, politics, religions, belief systems. The “old world” is definitely on the way out. A new, transparent, cooperative society is what I am hoping for. Neal Donald Walsch’s books, “A New Revelations” and “Tomorrow’s God” offer some wonderful promises of the future, if we be head the lessons and “take care of our Earth, our bodies, our souls,” today! Not preaching. I believe in Spirituality, not any set religion.

    Keep dreaming, Gwen, and follow your heart, it is a good one.

    Judy

Trackbacks

  1. 365 Days of Writing: Day Seven | A Novel Idea

Leave a Reply

