Skip to content

I am a Wander Woman!

April 30, 2010

I am reading a very intriguing book: The Wander Woman: How High-Achieving Women Find Contentment and Direction. I’m only part way into it, and I was surprised to find that some of the traits of a “wander woman,” were eerily familiar to me. Could it be that there are OTHER women who are longing for “something more”? Who become bored with their work if they are not being challenged, learning new things, or contributing something that will make a difference. Who need to enjoy what she does (passion…)?

There are several, different drivers of a Wander Woman, and I definitely don’t see myself in all of them, but I do believe that there is a huge difference in the way that women and men expect from their career.

According to Reynolds, men tend to choose to stay with one company because of a sense of responsibility to their family, but if the workplace doesn’t support a woman’s needs, they move on far more easily. They embrace a new challenge and don’t look back.

All of this I found interesting, because I honestly thought that it was just me!

Here are some quick facts that author Marcia Reynolds points out about Wander Women:

Wander women typically:

  • Were born after 1954
  • Are high-achievers in their workplace, school and/or communities
  • Define success very differently than the generation of women who first integrated the corporate world
  • Want to make a visible, positive difference by the work they do
  •  Have five main drivers: 1. Extreme confidence; 2. Constant need for new challenges; 3. A strong drive for recognition based on performance, not gender; 4. Work is their life’s blood; 5. The belief that experience is the best teacher
  • Care more about finding fulfillment in their work than shattering the glass ceiling or climbing the corporate ladder
  • Have high self-esteem, but always worry that there is more they can do
  • Carry the burden of greatness, meaning they are plagued by an endless pursuit of excellence
  • Feel frustrated, underutilized, and are easily bored with downtime
  • Make frequent job and career changes-not necessarily to better paying or more prestigious position

So, are you a Wander Woman? I’m curious.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    May 4, 2010 1:41 pm

    Yep, that’s you alright!

    I definitely identify with some of those characteristics myself too, other than the extreme confidence and high self esteem, of course.

    Sounds like an interesting read. Once you’re finished let me know if you recommend it.

  2. May 7, 2010 4:24 pm

    Yes, definitely! You know I am per our many of conversations on the phone and dinners. I will add this book to my to-read list. Glad to know there are more of us out there.

Leave a Reply

