Skip to content

Sticks and stones

June 1, 2010

I posted a little bit about this in my writing blog , and it’s not like I want to give too much face time to the woman who sent me the hateful note, but I’m still a little disappointed that there are people like her in our world, so here it goes…

For those of you who don’t know, I’m writing a novel. It’s my second novel. I’ve been writing for nearly a decade. It’s my passion. I have published more than 100 articles in newspapers and online. I have one full-length work of fiction (aka, my first novel – Ivy: The Story of a Friendship) under my belt and I’m happily working on my second.

To keep myself on track, I launched “A Novel Idea: 365 Days of Writing.” On my writing blog, I post about my progress daily. I’m doing this for me. To make myself accountable to the process — to my goals of finishing my second novel in 365 days. It’s been a lot of fun for me – in the last 40 days — and I hope it’s been interesting to the couple of followers I have who are learning about my unique novel-writing process.

On the weekend, I logged onto the blog to find a new comment from a “follower.” In it, this complete stranger starts by telling me how great my idea is — blogging to keep myself motivated…yada yada…all very nice. Then, WHAM! “And if I could give you some advice … you look like a hag. Your picture shows your wrinkles and how badly you need your teeth fixed.” SERIOUSLY! ? I almost laughed.

I wasn’t hurt by these comments. I don’t know this woman. And although it wasn’t my most favorite pic (I have awesome hair and that picture didn’t do me justice!) But I’m no hag. And even if I was a hag … who is she to tell me? Who asked her? Didn’t her mother ever tell her not to say ANYTHING if she didn’t have something nice to say? Geesh…

When you put yourself out there, you’re bound to hear from the kooks. Those sad people who have lived in negativity (yes, Dawn, you’re so right!), and feel the need to share their suffering with others. It’s unfortunate, and really pointless.

Mean girl. That’s the first thing I thought of when I read that. Like I was right back in high school. And that’s the sad part. The woman is probably not 17, and yet she’s still a MEAN GIRL. How sad for her that she hasn’t grown past that belief that in order to make herself feel better, she must make others feel worse.

Well, to you, MEAN GIRL, I say this:

“Sticks and stones may break my bones but names will never hurt me!”

(So there!)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 12:53 pm

    Gwen, we’ll always have to deal with meanies, but remember the tried and true phrase, “what goes around, comes around.” I have a strong feeling that the mean girl will get it back 100 times over, if she hasn’t already experienced it before. Perhaps that’s why she lashed out at a pretty and successful woman.

    Actually she’s a very POOR soul.

  2. Kate permalink
    June 1, 2010 1:04 pm

    I can just feel your tongue sticking out at her and your fingers waving from beside your head as I read this.

    (And I still love that picture of you.)

  3. Judy permalink
    June 1, 2010 1:22 pm

    Oh, Gwen, I am so sorry you had to encounter someone so nasty on your own blog site. For what it is worth, I have seen a lot of pictures of you at your Mom’s. And in all of them, you are gorgeous! Your family has a long line of “beautiful people”. I have even seen pics of you in a bathing suit, LOL, I never looked that good, in or out of a bathing suit, LOL.
    I have one question for the person that made the nasty comments…”what is hurting you so bad that the only way you can feel better is to hurt someone else?” We all know that hurt people hurt others. I would say to her, “get some therapy, Girlfriend, and maybe you could learn to smile like Gwen always does…”
    God Bless you, Gwen and keep smiling, you a lovely, inside and out!
    Love,
    Judy

  4. June 1, 2010 2:28 pm

    Well said, Gwen! Loved it. Unfortunately, those MEAN GIRLS will always be lerking around but you sure knew how to deal with this one!

Leave a Reply

