Skip to content

I think I can

July 5, 2010
tags:

Earlier this year I decided it was high time I started doing some serious exercise, so I did what I told myself I would never do: I joined a gym. And since signing on the dotted line–agreeing to come to this new gym on Tues, Thurs and Sunday — I’ve gained about 10 pounds. And contrary to what all my gym-loving friends tell me, it is NOT muscle.

In order for the new poundage to be muscle, I would have had to physically  go to the gym on all the days I promised the nice man who runs the gym AND work out with the weights they provide for the purpose of building that muscle. No. I did not. I have not. So it IS not (muscle).

Now, don’t get me wrong, I have actually gone to the gym, but it’s so sporadic that there is no possible way I could be doing myself any good. Every month I see the membership fee come out of my bank account and I think, “Geez, I should go more often.”

Well, that was before last week when I had an impromptu recommitment ceremony while trying to find something to wear to work. I WILL work out three days a week. I will work out three days a week. I think I can. I know I can. I will work out three days a week.

I can’t afford to have fat clothes and skinny clothes, so it’s more than a fitness thing. There are already skinny(er) clothes in my closet from 2006 that I refuse to give away because I know they are just 10 pounds away from fitting me again.

In order to maintain this new determination that I will physically go to the gym, get on the bike (and stay on the bike for 30 minutes), I need a distraction. Music is playing and there are three TVs within my view, but as I’m not a fan of angling or Cash Cab, I watch the clock on the bike.

“Five minutes,” I say to myself. “If I do another 5 minutes, 4 times, I’ll be ready to cool down for 5 minutes.” Then I look up to see a burly man in a rubber jacket hurl a huge fish out of the water and slosh it into his boat. “Six minutes and 40 seconds….just another 23 more minutes and I’m free…”

Well, you can see where the problem lies. At one point during my 30 minute workout yesterday I looked down at the timer and it read “17:04” — In that moment I felt like I was suffocating and wondered how much of a scene I would make if I hopped off the recumbent bike and ran full speed out the door and into the parking lot. My husband was happily jogging on the treadmill, at the far end of the gym, and no one saw us come in together, so…maybe it wouldn’t be so bad?

Dave says I need an iPod playing in my ear. “But there’s already music blaring through the place,” I argue.

Books on tape, perhaps? I see women with magazines and books propped up on the treadmill displays, reading while exercising, and I wonder how they do it? And then there’s the fact that, now, I need glasses to read, and I think the display is too far away. Damn it.

I think I’m destined to learn the ins and outs of bass fishing after all.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2010 1:10 pm

    Exactly the reason why I don’t go to the gym and I have fat clothes and skinny clothes and I listen to my IPod in peace….

    • July 5, 2010 3:47 pm

      I gotta do it…but I’m not buying fat clothes!

  2. Judy permalink
    July 5, 2010 1:29 pm

    Sorry, Gwen, the only way I can loose weight is to get rid of my skinny clothes. This has worked every time for me. In fact, I just got rid of ALL my skinny clothes. I expect to drop a lot of weight any time soon. One time I gave away my skinny clothes and lost about 200 pounds. Only 30 of that was me, the other 180 was by getting rid of the husband! LOL
    Have a great day!

    • July 5, 2010 3:40 pm

      Lucky for Dave, I’m only hoping to lose 15 pounds. I think I’ll keep him around.

      I just cleaned out my closet and was very surprised to find that most of the shoes I had hanging around were ALSO too small. Crazy. My feet have grown, too!

  3. Elizabeth permalink
    July 5, 2010 3:29 pm

    I completely understand. I feel the same way. I have always hated working out. I know that it is something that I need to do. I also know that it is the only way that I am going to lose the weight (“rolls”) that I continuously complain about. When I told Tim the other day that I have one pair of jeans that fit, he asked “what about the other millions of pairs that you have.” I told him they didn’t fit (like many of my other clothes), that they were too small (my skinny clothes). When he asked why I still have them, I said the same thing….that I am looking to fit back into them one day soon. I too know that all I have to do is drop about 10ish pounds and many of my cute clothes will start fitting again. I keep setting time limits in my head for the weight to at least start coming off, but it seems impossible to fit the time in during my busy days of class, clinicals, and studying. Then when I have a day that I don’t have to worry about all of that, the last thing I want to do is work out. I mean we have an exercise room at the club house, I SHOULD put it to use. Maybe we should make a contract with each other or something! Maybe if I have someone making me do it I will give in…..

    • July 5, 2010 3:34 pm

      I will make you accountable if you want me to….just let me know. And you can do the same for me. I’m giving myself until December to lose 15 pounds and get healthy.

      Tip: Drink lots of water (really…) and eat salad with a light dressing. If you mix up the salad by adding fruit, like cantaloupe, melons, I find that my brain is tricked into thinking I’m eating something other than greens!

Leave a Reply

