Skip to content

Creating a new normal

July 15, 2010

I’ve been pretty busy lately, writing the new book and keeping track of all that progress for my 5 followers on the “365 Days of Writing” blog. And, working full time on the day job, of course. Doing all the “normal” things I signed up for many years ago when I created the framework of my life: A house. Two cars. One dog. Manicured front lawn and a gym membership. My life is good.

But, even as great as my life is (and I have nothing to complain about), lately I’ve been in one of those moods where I just want to flee the country. Sell all my belongings, quit the day job, and leave “normal” behind me for good.

My problem is this: I think too much. I dream big. I always want more. Not more money or more love — got plenty of that in my life (insert big gratitude here). It’s an “Eat, Pray, Love” kind of thing. I want to see more. Do more. Contribute more to the world, somehow.

I’m turning 45 this year, and I have accomplished so much in my life, already! Raising four beautiful children will always be my biggest accomplishment, but as I move into this next phase of my life (kids grown…), I want to make sure I know what I want next. And, that’s where the thinking part comes in.

I enjoy the thinking part; throwing ideas around with my husband about what I might do next. What we might do next. Where I am the big dreamer, he is the “now” person. Focused on the day-to-day, he doesn’t think much past what he HAS to do now — He’ll “see when he gets there,” he says. And he tells me that one of us needs to be that person…Too many dreamers in one house? Not so good.

So, I will plot and plan, between trips to the orthodontist and bowling night with the kids. I know that there’s so much more waiting for me (and for us), when my current “normal” changes. And it will, all on its own. It’s inevitable. Once the kids are grown and the house is empty, our “normal” won’t exist any longer. And when that time comes, I want to be prepared to fill it with something way cool!

So, Italy…I may see you in a few years. I can see myself getting a lot of writing done under the Tuscan sun.

Beach house in South Carolina? Keep the light on…you never know.

I’ve always wanted to be a gypsy, so that, too, is on my list. You just never know what’s next.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Paula permalink
    July 16, 2010 2:38 am

    I love this one. I am feeling that way a lot lately like there is more to life. What should I do a new job maybe .Nice to hear we all wonder what life would be like if things were differernt. Kids grown more money to play with etc.

    • July 16, 2010 12:50 pm

      So true isn’t it, Paula? We have less than 100 years (likely) to figure it out and I’m almost halfway there…

  2. July 18, 2010 1:53 pm

    I hear you, Gwen! Things do change. Normal becomes absent until a new normal appears without notice sometimes (or rather without ‘me’ noticing).

    Loves this piece.

    Kimberly

  3. Colleen Friesen permalink
    October 12, 2010 4:10 am

    Nicely said Gwen. I think every woman must go to this place…especially as the years tick on.
    And it is so good to dream and wonder what else is possible, but I know for me, the tricky part is being in that grateful place of what a good life I have and the other part of me that wants/dreams of doing everything else:)

    • October 12, 2010 10:07 am

      Thanks Colleen. I think many women I know are in this same place, or have been. And if they aren’t, I think at some level, they will be one day. I am ever-grateful for the life I have. Was just thinking of that on my way to the day job yesterday. How lucky I am to have so much. I think that is what makes dreaming, for me, so much fun. Because of what I have already, I know that anything is possible.

Trackbacks

  1. 365 Days of Writing: Day 85 | A Novel Idea
  2. 365 Days of Writing: Day 106 | A Novel Idea

Leave a Reply

