Skip to content

My child, the grown up

July 17, 2010

My third child turned 18 today. All grown up. In four more years, I will have completed all of my motherly obligations. I’ve changed at least 5000 diapers, baked 77 birthday cakes (not that I’m counting), and kissed away more tears than I could ever count. I’ve sat in the stands of countless sporting events, plays, and school concerts.

I’ve learned the proper way to tie a necktie and I’ve protected each of them from harm. (Just try to get to them…I dare you.) I’ve helped them write English papers and taught them to do their own laundry. I’ve even taught a few of them to drive —

But today, as my son turns 18, I feel like time is going far too fast. I know it’s so cliche, but when you wake up and your baby is 18, it does make you wonder where the time has gone. I still remember, as though it were yesterday, how tiny he looked in the bassinet. He looked so new.

It seems like just yesterday that he learned to walk and talk.  How is it possible that he’s driving a car, growing a beard, and going off to college?

My husband used to say to the kids, whenever they grew an inch or had a birthday, “I thought I told you to stop growing up so fast!” Well, you know kids…they never listen, so Nick, like the rest of them, went on and grew up fast.

I’m looking forward to hanging out with grown up Nick. I think he’ll be pretty awesome. Good genes.

Nick and I on summer vacation in Alaska 2010

Happy birthday, Nick!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2010 6:01 pm

    This is the time in life where others turn to you and say “you did a great job”.

    You did a great job!

    Things change (but with a son about to turn 25) you begin to enjoy another kind of relationship and another type of fulfillment. When he was ready to go off to college, I was not ready for an empty nest. But in the subsequent years I began to enjoy, really enjoy, the adult he has become.

    Now he’s in law school. I strong-armed him into a trip to New Mexico because of concerns I have about my mother’s health. In what was a challenging weekend, he was an oasis of relief. And, I was a little sad to consider that, as each year goes by, his life will not have the same lengthy summer vacations and it will be harder for time together.

    Good thing I’m willing to travel 1200 miles for a good stalking. 😉

  2. July 17, 2010 6:11 pm

    Thanks Dawn! Tomorrow my daughter turns 24 — and my oldest child is also 25 (1/2!). Change seems to be happening every year in our house. I enjoy just sitting and talking with the kids, so it’s that time that I miss the most. The simple times. We had so much fun on our cruise to Alaska — and as beautiful and restful as it was, I enjoyed playing shuffleboard on deck with my two youngest boys the most.

    Motherhood is forever (whether they like it or not), so like you, I’m looking forward to watching his adulthood take shape.

  3. July 17, 2010 7:09 pm

    Great Genes, Great Kid, Lucky Wonderful YOU!

Trackbacks

  1. 365 Days of Writing: Day 89 | A Novel Idea

Leave a Reply

