Skip to content

A blast from the past: my favorite toys

July 31, 2010

All the buzz around the newest Pixar release, Toy Story 3, got me thinking about the toys we had when we were kids. When I told my son Dylan about some of the toys we had “back in the day,” he looked at me like I was the lamest person on earth (again).

Here’s a sampling of some of the toys that lined the shelves in our basement. A real blast from the past!

feely Meely

feely Meely

With this game, which I will admit my sister Michelle and I spent hours playing, is pretty low-tech. You literally stick your hands inside one of the ends of the box (see the black felt lined opening?) and feel around, guessing what you are feeling in the box. As you can imagine, my smart-ass, teen son came up with all kinds of comments around this that in my innocent youth, I would never dream of thinking…you know, things like: “…guess what’s in the box, little girl.” Gotta admit, this one is pretty lame, but we worked with what we had. What’s a kid to do?

Barbie Dream Boat

Barbie Dream Boat

Now, this was my all-time favorite toy! I thought it was amazing (although when I look at it now, it looks so much less spectacular than I thought it was back then). Barbie and Ken spent hours “on the dream boat,” cooking in the kitchen, sailing away to grand adventures. And at night, they each slept on their own bunks — until they got married, of course, and then they got the Barbie Country Camper.

Barbie Country Camper

Barbie Country Camper

My sister and I played a lot of board games when we were kids.  And they were simple, yet they entertained us for hours. Here’s just a few of my favorites

Mouse Trap

Simon

Simon

Kerplunk

Kerplunk

Don't Spill the Beans

Ants in the Pants

Mrs. Beasley

I saved the best for last–My favorite doll: Mrs. Beasley. Mrs. Beasley came with removable glasses and if you pulled the string on her back she said 11 different phrases. That’s about as high-tech as we got in the 70’s!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    July 31, 2010 3:40 pm

    omg where did you find those pictures of our games!!!! lmao

    they were fun at the time , god we are getting old

    xoxo Michelle

  2. July 31, 2010 3:43 pm

    I knew you’d love those pics, Michelle. Takes you back, doesn’t it? I can’t believe we actually liked playing Feely Meely. We had pretty low expectations for fun.

  3. Karen permalink
    July 31, 2010 3:55 pm

    Well girls I remember all but the Feely Meely…Guess we didn’t have that one in my day..lol. Endless hours spent playing my favoirte though Mouse Trap..loved it. Thanks for the memories Gwen..reminds me of just how OLD I am getting…lol

  4. July 31, 2010 4:54 pm

    Gwen, no matter what you say, Dylan Mac would think anyone your age or my age is lame. But Mrs. Beasley? Not lame…..so much fun…..So you also remember Dressy Bessey? Female toys….but what’s better for a little girl who yearns to be loved so tenderly as our dolls?

    Tell Dylan I never got in touch with trains, water pistals or trucks….and I’m not lame….tee hee! Best to the “boy toy” Dylan Mac~

  5. August 5, 2010 2:44 pm

    My brother and I had a Mousetrap game growing up. We rarely played it because it took longer to set up than anything. Ha!

  6. August 5, 2010 5:57 pm

    I loved the Barbie and Ken stuff! I don’t think we ever had the boat or the camper, but I still remember the Christmas we got the Dream House like it was yesterday…

Trackbacks

  1. 365 Days of Writing: Day 101 | A Novel Idea

Leave a Reply

