Skip to content

Camouflage me!

October 11, 2010
tags: ,

I have always had dry skin. Never had a single pimple when I was in high school. I was freckled and fair. I never wore sunscreen (who did back in the 70s?), and I never used an ounce of face cream. While the other girls spent what seemed like hours coating their faces with layers Cover Girl foundation and powder, I applied my favorite flavor of Maybelline Kissing Potion, added my blue eyshadow and I was good to go.

Funny how little we appreciate those small things in life: Like youth, for example. If only I had known then…blah, blah.

So, fast forward a few years (okay, quite a few), and I still have dry skin, but the freckles that my mother swore were “beauty marks,” have all but gone, replaced by several (earned) wrinkles and other imperfections that I’d rather not even get into here…on my face.

I remember the first time I bought any kind of foundation for my face. Having had zero experience shopping for face make up, I was overwhelmed by not only the array of products to choose from, but wondered how in the hell I was supposed to pick one that “matched” my skin. Purchase after purchase…I got it wrong. Too light. Too dark. Flaky. Greasy. Too thick. Doesn’t cover. Doesn’t come off! It’s crazy, the whole thing is crazy. I was never one to wear a lot of makeup and so I had no idea what to buy or how to put it on. All I did know was that I wasn’t going to be one of those ladies with the line. You know the one…the line at the jaw…where the face color is not the same as the neck color. Terrifies me even now to think I could have walked out of the house like that in the early days of experimenting with all that thick makeup.

I have tried so many kinds, now, that I’ve lost track. And it didn’t matter how much they cost, I never got it quite right–until just a few months ago when I found this:

Perfect touch camouflage creamPERFECT TOUCH CAMOUFLAGE CREAM. Even the name of it sounded like something I could work with. The product promised to give me “spot-specific, complete coverage of noticeable skin imperfections, especially on the face.” I was willing to try just one more time…And I was glad that I did. It is truly miracle makeup. Trust me on this. It is amazing. I don’t even have to use much. Just a little dab here and there and those telltale signs signs of aging disappear. I’m addicted to the stuff, now.

I still feel like I’m a make up nerd — I don’t want to spend hours looking at myself in the mirror. And my greatest fear is leaving the house with a face full of makeup that flakes and falls off during the day. That pancake look just isn’t me. No matter how old I get.

If I were Oprah, I’d put this on that page in the magazine..the “Look What We Found!” page.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2010 12:36 pm

    You’re not alone, Gwen. I would venture to say there are lots of us who don’t care much for make-up out there, despite what the commercials and television shows tell us. Funny, though, how I too was pondering a foundation not too long ago and wasn’t sure what to buy. I will give yours a hearty try. 🙂

  2. Kate permalink
    October 11, 2010 2:21 pm

    Wouldn’t you think we’d have this down by now? It’s crazy that I still struggle with this nonsense too. I’m totally trying your new miracle and I love that it only comes in 2 colors — I actually have a good chance of choosing the right one!

Leave a Reply

