Skip to content

Richard Marx, I will be your woman

October 20, 2010

Anyone who has known me for any length of time knows that I am a huge Richard Marx fan. And honestly, I’m not convinced the word “fan” truly describes the depth of my personal obsession with him. I “found” Richard when I was in my early twenties, when I picked up this cassette a record store at the mall.(remember those stores?) and fell in love with his music.

Okay, as talented as Richard Marx is, and trust me, if you haven’t listened to every one of his songs, you’re missing out, you know I picked that one cassette out of all the “M” artists because he was one hot dude. And, truth be told, I had an unhealthy attraction to men with mullets back in the 80s.

Richard Marx

I missed my one opportunity to see him perform live, in the 90s, as I was about 9 months pregnant with Nick and knew that in all likelihood all of the screaming and thrashing about (aka crazy-ass fan behavior) I was sure to do at the concert would not be good for the baby. That…and the fact that I looked like Orca.

While scanning Richard’s website a few months back I realized he was going to be performing in Charlotte, NC — an easy 3 or so hours from my house! I turned to my son, Nick, now 18, and said “Oh my god! Richard Marx is going to be just 3 hours away. I should go.” And I guess I said it in a way that seemed like a question, and the child who was the sole reason I missed Richard the first time around, turned and said to me, “You better go this time. He’ll be dead soon.” Nice. First, Richard is 47…

I didn’t spend too much time (10, 20 seconds) deciding whether or not I should go. I went.

The performance was held at the Mclohon Theatre, which held just 730 people. An intimate setting. Yes! When I walked into the building, my heart was racing. I even said something like, “I’m in the same building as Richard Marx.” Lame, I know, but it didn’t stop there. Just outside the entrance to the theatre, there was a table set up with t-shirts and CDs. I shrieked like a school girl. My poor husband looked at me and said “I know you’re excited, but can we keep take the freakiness down a little?” I was giggling and shaking. It was quite the sight…

I was dressed in my new hotter-than-hot tall black suede boots, tights and a long shirt (sort of 80’s style, now that I think of it…), and I was ready for Richard. By some strike of (amazing) luck, we found out that we could upgrade our seating and ended up just 3 rows back from stage. I was eye-to-eye with Richard, who winked at me, I’m certain of it, when he was playing “Now and Forever…I will be your man.” Yeah, baby. I saw it. We connected. Ahhh…..I was in heaven. He strummed his guitar and sang ballads to me all evening long.

The performance was outstanding. After more than 20 years, he sounded even better than I could have imagined. He is an amazing artist, singer, and songwriter.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Richard, I “Should’ve Known Better than to Fall in Love with You,” and you know that even though I see you next to never, I will be “Right Here Waiting for You,” because Now and Forever..I will be your woman.”

Photo credit: Dave Photography (not including the headshot)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2010 5:36 pm

    I’m so glad you have Dave as your husband. Not a whole lot of guys would tolerate a crush on Richard like that. Glad for you all!

    I’d love him to be my man too!

    • October 23, 2010 1:31 pm

      Yes, am ever grateful for my “real” man. While I was away at the retreat he mocked up a collage of photos into one pic and framed it in a pretty 8 x 10 frame! I came home to find it displayed in my office! Now, THAT guy — I’m happy to be HIS woman every day of the year.

  2. October 26, 2010 3:50 pm

    Linda Spears is right. The best man (with apologies to Mr. Marx) in this whole story is your husband. BTW I’m very glad to see Mr. Marx lost the 80s ‘do’. Yikes that was big hair…

    • October 26, 2010 3:52 pm

      You got that right, Colleen! I hope that you’ll get to meet my man one day. Putting up with my Marx obsession is the least of it…

Leave a Reply

